Overview
Albertsons Companies, Inc. is a U.S. food-and-drug retailer whose stores and digital channels offer groceries, general merchandise, health and beauty products, pharmacy services, fuel, and other goods and services.[1] The company describes its purpose as “to be locally great while being nationally strong.” [2]
As of February 28, 2026, Albertsons operated 2,244 stores across 35 states and the District of Columbia and employed approximately 280,000 people.[3] For fiscal 2025, a 53-week year ended February 28, 2026, it reported net sales and other revenue of $83.2 billion.[4] [1][2][3][4][2]
Products & services
Albertsons’ product offering includes groceries, general merchandise, health and beauty products, pharmacy items, vaccines, fuel, and related goods and services. Its Own Brands portfolio comprises more than 14,000 products and recorded $16.9 billion in retail sales in FY2025.[1][5]
Named Own Brands include Signature SELECT, which brings together the Signature family of products; O Organics, a range of USDA-certified-organic grocery products; and Open Nature, which includes products marketed without unnecessary additives and plant-based options. Other brands cited by the company include Lucerne, Value Corner, Overjoyed, Soleil, and Signature Pet Care.[1][6][7][8]
Services include pharmacy and immunizations, grocery delivery, curbside pickup through Drive Up & Go, and loyalty features such as personalized offers, digital coupons, fuel and grocery rewards, and automatic cash-off discounts. In FY2025, Albertsons reported delivery availability at more than 2,200 stores and Drive Up & Go at more than 2,100; delivery is offered through its own channels and partners including Instacart, DoorDash, and Uber.[9][10][11][12]
The $16.9 billion of Own Brands retail sales is approximately 20% of FY2025 consolidated net sales and other revenue of $83.17 billion, calculated from the reported figures; this percentage is not presented as a company-reported share.[1][13] [1][9][10][11][13][5][6][7][8][12]
Geographic presence
In FY2025, Albertsons Companies operated 2,244 stores across 35 U.S. states and the District of Columbia.[14] Its FY2025 disclosures do not provide revenue or sales percentages by country, state, or region; reported segment results are not a geographic revenue breakdown.[15]
The company’s principal executive office and headquarters are in Boise, Idaho. It also has corporate offices in Pleasanton, California; Phoenix, Arizona; and Plano, Texas, and global business capability centers in India and the Philippines.[16][17] Albertsons reported approximately 280,000 associates as of February 28, 2026, but did not disclose their geographic distribution.[18] [14][15][16][17][18]
Business segments
Albertsons Companies reports its geographically based retail operating divisions as operating segments, but aggregates them into one reportable segment. The divisions have similar economic characteristics and long-term performance, and offer similar products through stores and digital channels; the company does not disclose separate revenue or EBITDA contributions by division.[19]
For fiscal 2025, the sole reportable segment therefore represented 100% of reported segment revenue. Its net sales and other revenue were $83.17 billion, comprising $82.36 billion in retail sales (about 99.0%) and $813.1 million in other revenue (about 1.0%). Retail segment EBITDA was $4.40 billion; EBITDA is the principal performance measure used by the chief operating decision maker.[15][20] [19][15][15][15][15][20]
Company history
Albertsons traces its origins to 1939, when Joe Albertson and L.S. Skaggs opened the first store in Boise, Idaho.[21] In 2006, the legacy Albertsons business was divided among Supervalu, CVS, and a Cerberus-led investor group.[22] In 2013, Supervalu sold Albertsons and several other grocery banners to AB Acquisition LLC, an affiliate of the investor group.[23]
AB Acquisition completed its merger with Safeway on January 30, 2015, combining the two grocery businesses.[24] Albertsons went public in June 2020, with its shares listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol ACI.[25] In October 2022, Albertsons and Kroger agreed to a proposed merger; after courts enjoined the transaction, Albertsons exercised its termination right in December 2024, and the merger did not close.[26][27] [26][27][21][22][23][24][25]
Sources
- Albertsons Companies, Inc. — Full financial report (2026 Y)
- www.albertsonscompanies.com[2]
- www.sec.gov[5]
- www.albertsons.com[6]
- www.albertsons.com[7]
- www.albertsonsmediacollective.com[8]
- b2b.albertsonscompanies.com[12]
- www.albertsons.com[21]
- www.sec.gov[22]
- www.sec.gov[23]
- www.sec.gov[24]
- www.einpresswire.com[25]
Continue your research
From company context to financial detail.
Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.
Explore Albertsons Companies, Inc. in Finbar ↗