Overview
Credit Acceptance Corporation is a U.S. auto-finance company whose core business is helping automobile dealers arrange vehicle financing for consumers, including those with limited or impaired credit histories. Dealers assign consumer installment contracts to the company through its Portfolio and Purchase programs; Credit Acceptance then funds or purchases the contracts and services the resulting loans.[1][2][3]
The company’s operations are focused on the United States, serving independent and franchised auto dealers through a nationwide network. Its stated mission is to improve the well-being of credit-challenged Americans, and its purpose is “to drive possibility for everyone.” [4][5] Founded in 1972, Credit Acceptance reported revenue of $1.854 billion for fiscal 2025 and had 2,314 employees at year-end 2025.[6][7][8] [1][2][3][4][6][5][7][8]
Products & services
Credit Acceptance offers dealers two loan-financing products. Under its Portfolio Program, it advances non-recourse cash against future collections on assigned consumer vehicle loans, services those loans, and may pay the dealer a Dealer Holdback after the advance, fees, and costs are recovered. Under its Purchase Program, it buys dealer-originated consumer loans for a one-time payment and retains the collections. Consumers make payments directly to Credit Acceptance.[9][10][11][12]
The company administers, services, and collects on loans. In the Portfolio Program, loans are grouped into pools that may close after 50 or 100 assignments; collections are applied to costs, servicing fees, amounts due on advances, and then any Dealer Holdback. Dealer support includes enrollment, onboarding, operational assistance, and consulting.[11][13][4][14][15]
Dealers may also offer vehicle service contracts covering specified mechanical failures and GAP products that cover a shortfall between the loan balance and insurance proceeds after a vehicle is totaled or stolen. Credit Acceptance’s dealer technology includes CAPS and integrations with Dealertrack and RouteOne; its consumer services include online account access and payment options such as AutoPay and guest payments.[16][17][18][19][20][21]
In Q2 2026, Portfolio Program assignments represented 68.5% of assigned-loan unit volume and 65.2% of dollar volume; Purchase Program assignments accounted for 31.5% and 34.8%, respectively. In FY2025, finance charges were 92.4% of revenue, premiums earned were 4.1%, and other income was 3.5%; these are revenue-source shares, not a direct breakdown of revenue by financing program.[22][23][24][25][26] [9][10][11][12][13][4][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][22][22][22][23][24][25][26][19][20][21]
Geographic presence
Credit Acceptance’s dealer network extends to all 50 U.S. states, according to the company’s consumer-facing site. The company operates as an indirect lender, with participating dealers originating and assigning consumer loans to it.[2][27]
The company’s principal executive office and headquarters are in Southfield, Michigan. Its 2025 Form 10-K describes a remote-first work model: remote work is the primary experience for most team members, while some primarily work at headquarters.[28][29]
At December 31, 2025, Credit Acceptance reported 2,314 full- and part-time team members, but did not disclose their geographic distribution. The annual report also does not provide state-level revenue, loan receivables, or origination percentages.[30][31] [2][28][29][30][31][27]
Business segments
Credit Acceptance reports one operating and reportable segment. Its focus is providing financing solutions that enable automobile dealers to sell vehicles to consumers regardless of credit history; segment performance is assessed using consolidated net income and total assets. The company does not disclose separate segment-level revenue contributions.[32][33]
Within that single segment, the company uses two loan-assignment programs, which are not reported as separate segments. Under the Portfolio Program, it advances funds to dealers and services the underlying consumer loans; under the Purchase Program, it purchases the consumer loans and retains the consumer collections.[31][34] In FY2025, assignments were approximately 71.7% Portfolio and 28.3% Purchase by dollar volume. For the first half of 2026, the mix was approximately 67.3% Portfolio and 32.7% Purchase. These percentages indicate assignment activity mix, not segment revenue contribution.[35][36][37] [32][33][31][34][35][36][37]
Company history
Credit Acceptance was founded in 1972 by auto dealer Donald “Don” Foss to provide financing for vehicle buyers who had difficulty obtaining credit through conventional lenders. Foss served as chief executive until 2001; the company’s dealer network expanded substantially during the 1980s and 1990s.[5][38][39]
The company completed its initial public offering in 1992, with Foss becoming chairman. Brett Roberts succeeded Foss as CEO effective January 1, 2002. In November 2025, Vinayak Hegde became CEO and president, succeeding Kenneth Booth.[38][40][41]
Sources
- CREDIT ACCEPTANCE CORP — Full financial report (2025 Y)
- www.creditacceptance.com[5]
- www.sec.gov[7]
- stockanalysis.com[8]
- CREDIT ACCEPTANCE CORP — Full financial report (2026 Q 2)
- www.creditacceptance.com[19]
- www.creditacceptance.com[20]
- www.creditacceptance.com[21]
- www.creditacceptance.com[27]
- www.ir.creditacceptance.com[38]
- www.company-histories.com[39]
- www.theautochannel.com[40]
- www.sec.gov[41]
Continue your research
From company context to financial detail.
Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.
Explore CREDIT ACCEPTANCE CORP in Finbar ↗